# **Jackson Award Committee**

**Committee Members:** R. Baker, B. Blake, J. Braun, G. Kaufman, T. Lacher, Jr., M. O'Connell, N. Slade, J. Whitaker, Jr., and M. Willig (Chair).

#### Mission:

The Jackson Award, established in 1977 by the American Society of Mammalogists, is charged with nominating a candidate for the H. H. T. Jackson Award, which recognizes individuals with a long and outstanding record of service to Mammalogy and the American Society of Mammalogists. To do so, the committee solicits recommendations, and evaluates candidates based on a letter of nomination, letters of support, and curriculum vitae. Ultimately, the Board of Directors votes on the Committee's nomination, and the award is presented formally at the Annual Banquet of the Society.

### **Information Items:**

- (1) The committee received and reviewed one complete application for the Jackson Award.
- (2) The committee recommended one individual, and forwarded the name and supporting documents to President McLaren for consideration by the Board.
- (3) The results of the Board's deliberations will be presented at the Annual Banquet.

### **Action Items:**

(1) Budget request of \$150 to produce the Jackson Award plaque.

## Respectfully Submitted,

Michael R. Willig, Chair (michael.willig@uconn.edu)